Awards and Prizes: An opportunity for students and educational institutions.

Ashikavinod | Monday, October 24, 2016 9:26 AM IST

October 31:

Education. Nominations are being accepted for the 2017 Harold W. McGraw Jr. Prize in Education, which honors innovation in education. The prize recognizes outstanding individuals who have dedicated themselves to improving education through new approaches and whose accomplishments are making a difference. It includes three categories: U.S. K-12 and higher education, and international education. Honorees will receive an award of $50,000 and a bronze sculpture designed by students from Arizona State University. Visit the website for more details. Contact:

November 1:

Humanities. Gettysburg College offers the $50,000 Gilder Lehrman Lincoln Prize, which is awarded annually. The prize is given for the finest scholarly work in English on Abraham Lincoln, the American Civil War soldier, or a subject relating to their era. Publishers, critics, and authors may submit books published in the current year by November 1. There is no entry fee or form. Visit the college's website for more details. Contact: (717) 337-8255; [email protected] ;

December 15:

Academic affairs. The American Association of University Administrators is accepting nominations for its awards for outstanding higher-education programs and individual administrative leadership. Visit the organization's website for more details. Contact: Dan King, president; (814) 460-6498; [email protected] ;

April 1:

Social and behavioral sciences. Brandeis University is accepting nominations for the Joseph B. and Toby Gittler Prize, which recognizes an individual who has made outstanding and lasting scholarly contributions to racial, ethnic, and/or religious relations. The award includes a cash prize of $25,000 and a medal, and requires the recipient to spend two to three days on the Brandeis campus. The selected individual does not have to be an American citizen or reside in the U.S. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Contact: Marci McPhee; (781) 736-8577; [email protected] ;

June 1:

Humanities. The Donald Keene Center of Japanese Culture at Columbia University annually awards $6,000 for the Japan-U.S. Friendship Commission Prizes for the Translation of Japanese Literature. The prize is given for the best translation of a modern work or a classical work, or the prize is divided between equally distinguished translations. Translations must be of book-length Japanese literary works: novels, collections of short stories, manga, literary essays, memoirs, drama, or poetry. Submissions may be unpublished manuscripts, works in press, or books published during the two years prior to the prize year. Translators must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States. Prior recipients of the award are eligible to submit new translations. Visit the center‚Äôs website for more details. Contact: Donald Keene Center of Japanese Culture;

Humanities. Texas State University's College of Education offers the Tomas Rivera Mexican-American Children's Book Award annually to an author/illustrator of the most distinguished book for children and young adults that authentically reflects the lives and experiences of Mexican Americans in the U.S. The book may be fiction or nonfiction. Nominations are accepted from authors, illustrators, publishers, and the public at large. The deadline for nominations is November 1 of the year of publication. Visit the award's website for more details. Contact: Jesse Gainer, Texas State University; [email protected] ;

Humanities. The Story Prize is awarded annually to the author of an outstanding collection of short fiction (at least two stories and/or novellas). The winner receives a $20,000 cash award and each of two runners-up receive $5,000. Eligible books must be written in English and first published in the U.S. during the calendar year, in either hardcover or paperback, and available for purchase by the general public. Collections must also include work previously unpublished in book form. Eligible books may be entered by the publisher, agent, or author. Books published from January through June must be submitted by July 15. Books published from July through December must be submitted by November 15. Visit the website for more details. Contact: Larry Dark, The Story Prize; [email protected] ;

Humanities. Columbia University awards the Bancroft Prizes annually to authors of distinguished works in either or both of the following categories: American history (including biography) and diplomacy. The competition is open to all regardless of connection to Columbia University. Applicants do not need to be a U.S. citizen to apply. Submitted works must be written in English or have a published translation in English. Volumes of papers, letters, and speeches of famous Americans, unless edited by the author, are not eligible. Autobiography comes within the terms of the prize but books reporting on recent personal experiences of Americans, within a limited area both in time and geography, are not considered eligible. Visit the university's website for more details. Contact:

Science, technology, and math. The American Chemical Society Award for Encouraging Women into Careers in the Chemical Sciences, established by the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, recognizes significant accomplishments by individuals who have stimulated or fostered the interest of women in chemistry, promoting their professional development as chemists or chemical engineers. The award consists of $5,000; a certificate; a grant of $10,000 that will be made to an academic institution designated by the recipient to strengthen its activities in meeting the objectives of the award; and up to $1,500 for travel expenses reimbursement. Nominations for the award, due November 1 annually, may come from any professional setting: academia, industry, government, or other independent facility. Visit the organization's website for more details. Contact: American Chemical Society; (202) 872-4575; [email protected] ;