Artists snare $80k Australia Council fellowships

Gayathri | Wednesday, November 30, 2016 12:09 PM IST

Seven artists yesterday received Australia Council fellowships each worth $80,000 across two years.

The recipients of the annual grant are producer and facilitator Bec Reid, dancer and choreographer Brooke Stamp, diver and artist Sarah Jane Pell, author Julia Leigh, saxophonist and composer Sandy Evans, theatre director Katerina Kokkinos-Kennedy and visual artist Danie Mellor. Australia Council chief executive Tony Grybowski says the fellowships will support the established artists’ creative activity and professional development.

“This will enable them to develop, experiment, research and explore new opportunities and approaches in their chosen art form,” he says.

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Fellowship recipient will be announced at the National Indigenous Arts Awards in May next year, along with the Red Ochre and Dreaming Awards.